Re-think

After creating ‘The Genderbread Person’ spread, I liked the visual that the white space created. I went back to the other page I had created (below) and moved some text around.Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 20.10.42.png

I like the quote on here, I didn’t want to remove the quote but I thought about using a different quote. Also, seeing the leg began to annoy me to cropped the image more. I kept the body text as it was because I like how it is shifted to the side. With the quote, instead of having it in the box, I looked other ways I could show it.

Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 22.16.54.png

I liked the idea of having part of the text going of the image and being written in tow different colours. However, I tried this and I felt it made it look a bit hostile. I want the photos to have a personal touch and looking at the above image, it just doesn’t for me. I do like the blank space below though, but it could look better by just expanding the image so that it fills the page.

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 14.42.29.png

I continued to experiment with text on the page and though I like the composition above, I think that it doesn’t set the right tone for the article. The colours and the way it’s all placed seems very serious and feels really cold. I’ve put this page as the last page so I think that it doesn’t end on a positive point like I want it to – as the end of the written article is very positive. The first two spreads of the article are bright pieces of work, so I think I need to go back and look at my initial ideas and research some more so I can position this piece of work in the right direction.

Current look of article: transgendersurgery

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

