Prints onto Screen

After spending the day screen printing, the next thing to do was to scan the prints in and edit them to be put onto the editorial piece. I put the scan of the print ‘what if I tell the wrong person’ into Photoshop and used the filter gallery to play with effects. After using pastel pink and blue colours with the initial design of the article, I carried on using those colours because I like the contrast of the colours. Even though I was editing the print to be put into the article, I still wanted it to look like it was a initially a print so I used a textured effect and didn’t correct the imperfections of the letters.

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 19.22.44.pngScreen Shot 2017-04-26 at 19.14.10.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like the composition of the words because it has been placed in the pace of asking a question. Initially I had an idea of using these as stand alone pieces on a page of the article but I don’t know if they are strong enough to be places on their own.

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 19.27.47Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 19.51.04

PDF of article: aboutaboyTAKE3

As I was putting the piece onto the article, I liked the contrast of having two different colours on each half of the article. I wanted to the have the ‘WHAT IF…’ print on its own on a page but it didn’t look full enough so I added some of the body text to make it more full. It looked better with the but there still seemed like there was something missing. I think this is because the pages are very plain and boring and it needs something else to make the piece more interesting. I still plan to do photography for the work so I think this will definitely add to the page.

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

