Initial layout design

In my article, I want the use of typography and photography to be really important in my article because I think there is a lot within the article that I could illustrate. Because of this, I want there to be a lot of negative space so that the body text sits around the image/artwork rather than the other way round. In the workshop yesterday, we were shown a couple of pieces of editorial design where the photograph is the main part of the double page spread (below) and this gave me an idea of how I could position the article on the page. Keeping the body text to the sides leaving a lot of blank space would allow room for an image or artwork to be placed.

When it came to placing the text onto the pages, I kept in mind that I wanted to have a lot of negative space. The article isn’t very long, so I knew this would be easy to do if I used the right point size and type. I spent a lot of time adjusting the size, deciding what type to use and whether to use colour or not – below is what I’ve come up with so far.

aboutaboyPDF

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 17.40.37Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 17.40.45Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 17.40.54.png

On the brief is specifies to use either 3 double page spreads or two double page spread and 2 single pages. Initially I tried have 2 single pages and 2 double pages but I found it difficult to create a lot of blank space so I decided to stick with using 3 double paged spreads instead. I’ve used 3 types: Arial Rounded MT Bold (for the heading); Euphemia UCAS (for the quotes) and Kohinoor Bangla (for the body text with 8pt size). All are sans serif and I feel that they are modern and easily legible. After doing the experiment of using pastel colours, I liked how they looked on the page especially with the pastel pink background so I continued that with my designing of the whole article. I went to change the colour of the heading and accidentally filled the background of the text box in white but I liked how it made the heading stand out on the page so kept it and did the same with the quotes. I think it works because it breaks up the page rather that it just being pink and black. I’ve managed to create a lot of blank space which has left plenty of room for a piece of photography or typography/illustrative work. I like the type I have used for the title ‘About A Boy’ as it feels really contemporary and it works well as the heading for the article, however, see the space I have the first the page I want to create the title myself by hand with print. In the field module I experimented with printed typography using screen printing (click here to see work) so I would like to use this same process with printing the words ‘ABOUT A BOY’. I did have ideas about changing the title but I feel that the title ‘about a boy’ is fitting to what it’s about; I will however re-read the article and see if I can come up with any other ideas that might suit the article better and be more appropriate to the way I am interpreting it.

Colour?

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 18.10.56.png

Since I’d used a combination of colours in my previous experiment I wanted to try with this design. Using solely colour and no black, I chose pastel blue to contrast on top of the pink; grey for the heading and quotes and then white for the rest of the text. It makes the article quite subtle and the only thing that really shouts out on the page is the grey heading. I like this though because I feel that it suits the positive tone of the article. The more colour I use the more I’m sure that I want to stick with using colour within the whole article. With the photography and prints I plan to do, I want to experiment with them being both colourful and darker tones. I don’t want there to be too much colour in the article because it could risk it looking tacky so I will experiment with a rang of colours and black & white.

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

