Digitising hand-painted designs

One of my ideas for the article was to have a one-page or double-paged spread of a piece of text filling the whole page. After doing some initial ideas for this, I wanted to see what it would look like on screen. One of my designs was a conversation taken from the article – a phrase I felt was important in the article – drawn in pen. On the previous post I had said that I thought they work really well and would like to try it on bigger paper so I expanded on my initial designs by using A4 paper (instead of A5) and a large paint brush to make the strokes.

After created these (above) I then scanned in one of the designs (right) and reworked it onto Photoshop. I took the ‘I’m sorry you have…’ because I felt that was the perfect sized spot to include text instead. Using the ‘filter gallery’ I played around with a few of the effects. I like the the edges of some of the strokes because they have a rough texture so I chose a filter that made this more prominent.

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 16.18.24.png

whatif?.jpg

I like the black and white grainy effect because I like how the words have texture. It makes the words a lot more interesting and fill the space well. If I use text to fill an entire page – as oppose to using images – then the text needs to be creative and interesting enough that it doesn’t need anything else to fill the page with it.
I then placed this into Indesign and inserted text into the white space. I chose to use the part of the article that has this phrase in it.

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 15.43.48.png

At a first glance I really liked it but then I question where it looked too dark as black and white. Overly, I feel that there is quite a positive tone to the article and even though the part of the article I am highlighting is showing a dark-side, I don’t want to create a too-negative tone. I think if I use black and white it will create the wrong impression to the reader. I decided that I’d need to re-edit the image with colour.

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 15.53.52.png

I tend to shy away from using colour because I find it difficult to contrast colours well so I looked back at my research of articles that had used a lot of colour. Transworld Magazine and CHEAC MAC magazine, both use bright contrast colours so initially I chose to use the same colour for the writing but 2 different tones. I thought that the colours worked well together but a white background didn’t compliment it enough so I chose a pink pastel colour to lift the page.

All 3 colours work really well together and this could be a potential colour palette to use throughout the article. A colour palette is one thing that I am conscious of because I don’t want it to appeal to one gender more than the other. It needs to be gender neutral but at the same time I want it to be current in trends to appeal to a young person’s audience. I want to push my designs as much as possible – like I’ve seen in my research.

Overall I think these colours and design work well because I feel that it fills the page well. Moving on I want to try more headings in this paint brush effect – it could be a potential aesthetic used throughout the article. I have an idea of combining my typography with portraits to create a layered effect because I think it could really stand out on the page. My next point is to find a model and start taking photos.

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

