Completed animation

The next stage was to put all the of the animation together. I’d successfully animated 3 parts of the storyboard. After each thing I animated, I was rendering copies and sending it to the other members of my group who were all happy with it and I made changes when they suggested to do so. After putting what I had done together, I chose to animate the storyboards before (shown below; caption in quotations underneath is the narration):

Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 15.49.41.png

This seemed like it was going to be a hard one to do because there was so much to animate for such a small sentence. I really liked the illustration Ellie had done though (below) so I wanted to give it a try. However, I soon realised that it wouldn’t work because the text on the screen needs to be read but if I were to animate all of what was storyboarded, that would mean it would have to play really quick to meet the pace of the animation. This would make the writing really hard to read and since our target audience is people of all ages, it’s needs to be readable. I decided to scrap this storyboard idea and keep it simple just by having each word appear, frame by frame.

17195457_1477276478951857_1154988700_o.jpg

I used the type that I had used for the word ‘care’ in the previous animation but in bold instead of regular. For the important words I used white and red. I chose to emphasis the word ‘not’ and ‘treatment’ because I felt they were the most prominent from the message we are trying to give to people watching the animation; as well as volume, but I chose to have this in red and a lot big to emphasis the word and the problem the A&E is facing. It’s at quite a slow pace at the moment so I can imagine it will need to be sped up when the narration is added.

In total I have completed 23 seconds of the animation. Overall, I’m proud of what it’s become; from the drawings I made in the storyboard to an actual moving image piece. I think we have made a good choice in colours and typeface(s). We want it to be friendly and convey to a wide target audience and I think the soft pallet of colours and the handwriting-style typeface does this.

My final animation:

This is my completed input into the group before going away.

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

