Zine

Plan

The piece about Frank Thomas is really long and to be able to make a plan of how the zine with look, I wanted to break the story down into chunks so I could begin to make a story board for each page.

img_1107

I then wrote out of a plan of what I was going to do for the zine. I have an image in my head of it being black and white, and perhaps maybe with 1 colour. After looking at a few images of posters, I’ve had an idea of screen printing it (images that inspired this idea below). I want it to be simple, with images on one page, text on another but I also want to experiment with combining the two. I like the idea of having a lot of layers in the piece, so printing on different materials like paper, card, tracing paper,… I will only use quotes from the text and from Thomas himself so the zine will be 100% true to the story. I want it to be a narrative but I don’t want to be like a normal story book; I want to reader to have to do some thinking when they’re reading it so that they have to piece together his journey through the war.

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

