DRAFT 4

Fri 2nd Dec

Changes from feedback

After my tutorial on Friday, I began changing my work. The first thing I did was to take about the diagonal shapes and to start reverting it back to the original style of two columns rather than 3. Once I did this I could see the difference straight away; it was a lot better to read and just looked clean on the page. I added a quote in to fill up the blank space and changed the colours of the questions to a grey so the name and introduction stood out more.

I applied these same changes to Morag Myerscough’s page too, which worked well. She has a lot more text that Eike Koenig so it was good to see that using the same style of layout worked for more writing.

Screen Shot 2016-12-05 at 20.33.47.png

Screen Shot 2016-12-05 at 20.42.21.png

Next I worked on Oded Ezer and Jessica Walsh’s pages. I tried to fit Ezer onto one page but I found that his page was too busy. I’d change my point size to 8.5 which was the smallest I could go and I didn’t want to change my typeface so I decided to try splitting one page between Ezer and Walsh, giving Ezer a page and 1/3 and Walsh a double-page spread and 2/3. With using one page for 2 artists, I needed a clear indicator that it was two separate articles so I gave Ezer a black background with white text and Walsh black text and a background. Visually, I really liked it – I thought it worked really well on the page and you could see a clear transition between the different artists.

Screen Shot 2016-12-05 at 20.57.02.png

For Walsh, I add her name, description and picture on the first page (2/3 of the page) and the rest of her body text on the double-page spread. I found that I needed to show a clear indicator that the writing was about the same article (Jessica Walsh) so in the centre of the page I had ‘Jessica Walsh’ in bold going down the page with a grey background and white writing. Originally I wanted it to be black with white writing but I found that it was too bold on the page and didn’t flow with the rest of the article.

Screen Shot 2016-12-05 at 20.57.32.png

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

