Image Series Project IDEA 2

Friday 18th Nov

Geography Short Course

Photo shoot

I began this project by taking a series of photos I thought fitted the subject of Geography. My initial ideas were urban and natural landscape, bikes and maps. I went around the uni to photograph.

For my idea 1, I had spent quite a lot of time experiment with tools on photoshop trying out different edits and along with the workshop we had right at the start of the Image block (digital screen print) I knew what tools did what and how to use them quite well. So when it came to editing the my pictures, I knew quite quickly what edits I wanted to use. I like the idea of using a completely different colour so I started experimenting with the hue/saturation tool on my images.

140x200GEOFINAL.jpg
140 x 200 mm

Above, this photo was originally green and brown but playing around with the hue/saturation, I came to this colour. I love this image. The colours are beautiful and I like how it’s focused at the front and fades into the back; as with the colours, they’re darker at the front and fade into light towards the back. It’s different and it’s a kind of image you would associate with Geography but I like that as it gives a different light to how to look at it.

Creating this piece reminded me of the work we were shown in one of my constellation lectures by a photographer called Robert Mosse. He uses an infrared camera that captures the chlorophyll in flora that results in the vegetation being pink in the image. In his piece, Infra, he uses this to capture the war in the Democratic Republic of Congo, resulted in really beautiful landscapes of such tragedy of war. The pink makes the images seem really beautiful and detracts you in what you’re really seeing. The idea of using a different photographic technique in photos in really similar to how I’ve edited my image as I’ve taken a photo of something really relatable to Geography, but just by changing the colour slightly, it still has that same link to Geography but it’s not as obvious and does change the meaning slightly.

Click here to see images of Robert Mosse’s work.

I applied the same technique to the next 3 images I edited.

280x40geofinal
280 x 40 mm

When editing photos that had green trees, etc, in them it change the colours to the same as the ones in the image above, but with any image that didn’t have any vegetation in it, it didn’t change colours in the same way. It was frustrating at first as the first two image worked really well but for my final two images I wanted to use a picture of a bike for the one and a building for the other. The picture of the bike had grass in the background but by changing the hue/saturation, it also turned the colour of the bike into a really off-putting green/purple. For the other image, it just changed the colours into completely different colours than the previous two. I thought about just using more images of trees but I didn’t want to that because I found that boring and wanted more diversity within my images.

geographybikex1
Example of one the images that didn’t work. The pink colour is not as deep as the previous photos and it has also changed the colour of the bike. Not a nice image to look at.

After playing around with editing techniques I realised that best thing for my to do was to edit the photo I wanted to use as well as editing a photo a trees (into the pink colours I wanted). Once doing this, I then combined the images together, the outcome with the pink colour I wanted with my original photos.

55x40geofinal
100 x 55 mm
100x55geofinal
55 x 40 mm

These two images work really well with the layer of pink on top. The 100 x 55 mm image is slightly more subtle but the colours of the strain of grass are strong enough to show the image in that colour. I like the texture in the 55 x 40 mm image; it’s a slightly different look to the other 3 but I think it still works well.

Overall, I’m pleased with this series outcome. I think all 4 photos work well together and have a clear graphic strategy. Photographically, I think they’r really strong and I’m happy with the colour of them. The fact that the subject is Geography would not be known in the photos in itself but I think in context with text around them, I think they would work.

Click on link to see final composition of all the images on one A3 sheet:

georgraphyshortcoursefinal

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

