Image project: part 2

Tues 8th Nov

Idea 1

Exchange to India

  • learn another language
  • experience a different culture
  • take classes in a school of a different country
  • USING IMAGES OF WHEN I WENT TO INDIA

I had the idea of using a variant amount of images that I had taken and places them as a collage. I looked at the posters of DaDa and I really like the placement of how mis-matched the posters are so I decided to follow my work in a similar theme.

Photos used from trip to India ’14:

IMAGE 1

All editing was done on Photoshop.

indiashortcourse

I began chopping out the images and placing them together. The idea was that it would look as if I had cut and stuck down these images by hand, hence why they are messily cut. I like that [for example on the tree] you can see the background around the edge so it contextualises it slightly but doesn’t take too much away from the object itself. I used a jumble of image, ones I thought best captured India. I like the background colour to it, I didn’t at first but I think it gives it a poster aesthetic.

After creating this I carried on with the theme of uneven cut images and collages but I felt that the photo above didn’t really capture the essence of India so I want to try more bright colours.

indiashortcoursesample

I much prefer the composition of this one. I think it the way the boats are placed are really dynamic and the placement of the train looks as if it’s coming out of the page slightly, like it’s moving out.

Once of the things I think about trying to convey was the language that could be learned on the short course so using google translate, I attempted to add some language in there. I thought it worked well, looks a lot better with the orange behind but I felt that it didn’t really need to be there. It looks a bit lost and pointless sat in the corner and the arrangement of images doesn’t really gain anything by it being there.

At this point, I began focusing on the colours and trying to make it brighter. I wanted to capture the colourfulness of the culture of India so that is why I picked pink and green as I like that they’re bright colours. Changing the hue/saturation of the image (left photo) didn’t really work, it’s just turned the image into a really tacky piece of work. Instead I tried using the paintbrush tool; I like the effect as it looks like it’s been done by hand so it links with the theme of how I made the images collage, but, in this particular image it doesn’t work. I think this is partly because the photo is too smaller so everything is squished together and it looks like there’s too much going on.

FINAL IMAGE

indiashortcoursebright

In the end, I decided to stick with enhancing the colours on the image itself. After looking at the collage in a bit more detail, I found that there was enough colours in the images as it was to work with so there was no need to try and add different colours into. I enhanced the images brightness and made it so that there was a strong contrast between the colours as well as enhancing the vibrancy. I didn’t want to add a background to it as I felt that if I added a coloured background (like in the first experiment) I would lose the colours in the collage. There needed to be some kind of colour though so I went back to using the paint brush tool; two strokes in the background, making the colours green, white and orange, all colours of the Indian flag. It has a minimalist effect the strokes in the background but I really like it. It strong but not too strong that it detracts from the collage.

I thought this approached worked really well so I continued with this for all of my other photos so that there was a clear theme and link between all of them.

IMAGE 2

indiashortcoursebright2

Unintentionally, all the colours of the images used in this collage work really well together and are all on the same scale. Even though the previous image worked well with strong contrast of different colours, I think this one is a really strong collage but in a way the textures of the objects are shown. The rustiness of the boats at the bottom sit strong against the gold on the large temple. The tree isn’t as strong in brightness as I would have liked it to be but it doesn’t look bad as it works as a separation between the top and the bottom of the collage.

FINAL IMAGE

indiashortcourselan

I positioned the collage towards the bottom so that there was a slightly different dynamic to the first image. With the direction of the paintbrushes it leads you to the bottom of the page where the ohm symbol is which I think is a nice lead to the collage. It fills the page a bit more than the top image but I feel it looks leaves a good amount of white space.

IMAGE 3

For my final image, I wanted to try it out in landscape to mix it up a bit compared to the previous two. It didn’t seem to work. The images were too neat and spread out and it would have worked a lot better if the photos weren’t so aligned. The problem with having it landscape is that it felt like there was too much blank space which I wanted to fill but then what happened what that I was left with too big a collage. I think another reason was perhaps because the photos weren’t right for what I was trying to make. Compared to the previous two images, it wasn’t a good collage.

Back to portrait it worked a lot better. I changed the images I used and the dynamics of the way the collage was created worked a lot better. The previous collages gave a element movement with either the direction of the paintbrush strokes or how parts of the collage was placed. In this one there’s movement in the paint strokes and how the taxi and bicycle wheel has been placed.

FINAL IMAGE

indiashortcourselandscape6

I love the brightness of colours in this; most of it comes from the beauty of the temple but it doesn’t overpower the rest of the images which works well. You can still see way they’ve been cut out, it’s subtle but when you look properly, the way everything has been layered it still looks like they’ve be cut and stuck on by hand which was the aesthetic I was going for.

FINAL 3 IMAGES FOR- EXCHANGE TO INDIA: SUMMER COURSE

Overall, as a set of 3 I think they work really nicely together. Even though the brief isn’t stuck to just doing 3 images, I felt that because my photos had a really prominent theme running through, it would look best as only a set of a 3. I’m happy I chose to use orange and green as the colours for the strokes. I did think about changing the colours in each image but I really liked the green and orange as it built a strong relationship between all the images.

 

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

