Type Specimens – Palatino

Tues 19th Oct

Experiments – InDesign

Using the designs I had created on Illustrator, I began my poster design on InDesign using the grid system.

Palatino has been used for newspapers, books and logos and has quite a corporate connotation to it. I tried to experiment with several sizes of letters and different compositions with how the letters overlapped with each other. I thought filling the space with the letters would work really well, I tried to show the letters in there truest form as asked for in the brief.

Above are the first two posters I printed out. I liked them both but once printed, I realised that they didn’t really work. The image didn’t blend very well and the position of the characters looked really odd alongside side the ‘Palatino’.

palatino4

One the previous tries, I didn’t like how the text sat around the ‘Palatino’ so instead I tried to have the text sit inside the letters, thinking it would give it a cleaner look. Again, there was something not quite right about it and I think it’s because I’ve tried to squeeze too much in one space when I’ve got so much negative space around it.

Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 12.44.17.png

After a tutorial and some feedback from peers, I was advise to make the composition of the text box and the characters more straightforward rather than mimic the shape of the ‘Palatino’ as the letters were clashing together. I think this poster works, the text on the left doesn’t detract from the ‘Palatino’ on the right and the way it fades in makes it more of a gradual transition rather than just block black to white. I think the image on this is too big so would work well being smaller and also if the gradient of black to white was wider, it would give the poster a bit more depth.

Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 12.52.19.png

I’m really happy with this poster. I like the gradient of black to white – I will make it slightly darker as I think it fades out too much on the right hand side of the ‘Palatino’ and the palatino gets lost slightly on that side. The text on the left all works well but I will go back and correct some of the typesetting as the paragraphs aren’t right. Overall, I am really pleased with this design and happy I have developed to this point.

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

