Type Specimen

Thurs 13th Oct

Design ideas

  • leave negative space?
  • fill page?
  • dynamic shapes and lines of words
  • use a letter as an outline – like Garamond poster; having info inside
  • b&w – let the type look good
  • small amount of writing

After researching different type specimens and photos, I started designing what my poster could look like. Palatino is an easy to read, perhaps corporate font that is often used for newspapers, book and logos. I want to show of my typeface in an experimental way – like the posters in my research – but have a minimalist look to it so that it really shows of the type. My main ideas are having the ‘P’ as a really dominant letter and the rest of the words fitting around it. I like the idea of have the letters overlapping each other, having the word read from top to bottom.

The poster has to be created in InDesign but I will use Illustrator to experiment with the positioning on letters and composition of the overall typography because I am a lot more confident using Illustrator.

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

