Six Word Story

Thurs 6th Oct

WHIZZPOPPING

I printed out my chosen type in large then began to experiment with the word ‘WHIZZPOPPING’. I wanted it to be written in a way that was as crazy as the word itself so I’m using a combination of upper and lower case and having all the letters as hybrids.

The first thing I did was trace the letters to try out different letterforms and compositions of how it should be laid out. Once I was happy, I then cut out the letters and stuck it down as a collage. I like the outcome of it, how I think it should be a lot bigger – this can be easily change by enlarging it on the photocopier.

I wanted to experiment with enlarging some of the letters on the photocopier so I copied the word but dragged it whilst it was copying. It’s given it a nice effect but I don’t know if it is too much of an image – as it should only be letterforms.

I will continue to make the rest of the sentence in a similar way I have written ‘whizzpopping’.

Author: ellenreiddesign

First year Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

